Watch Principia live Inspire article

Watch the launch of ESA astronaut Tim Peake, NASA astronaut Tim Kopra and Russian commander Yuri Malenchenko to the International Space Station on 15 December at 11:03 GMT (12:03 CET).

Tim, Tim and Yuri will spend six months in space working and living on the International Space Station.

During his mission, named Principia, Tim Peake will maintain the weightless research laboratory and run scientific experiments for hundreds of researchers on Earth. As an ambassador for science- and space-based careers, he has an intensive programme to inspire children during his stay in space. School activities running alongside Tim’s mission have some element of science or technology in it, from computer coding, growing plants and maths demonstrations to fitness and nutrition.

Launch coverage starts at 10:00 GMT (11:00 CET).

Docking of the Soyuz TMA-19M spacecraft with the Station is scheduled for 17:23 GMT (18:23 CET) with coverage resuming at 17:00 GMT (18:00 CET).

Tune in again at 18:45 GMT (19:45 CET) for the hatch opening and press conference with the whole Space Station crew, including the new arrivals.

Follow the whole mission with live updates via the Principia mission blog and on Twitter Connect with Tim at: timpeake.esa.int

Institution

ESA

License

CC-BY