Menu - Upper Menu

Home » Imprint



  • EIROforum, a partnership between eight of Europe’s largest inter-governmental scientific research organisations. See below.



Editorial board

Copy editor

  • Dr Caroline Hadley




Web developer


  • Print version: 1818-0353
  • Online version: 1818-0361


Science in School is published and funded by EIROforum, a partnership between eight of Europe’s largest inter-governmental scientific research organisations.


The European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN) is one of the world’s most prestigious research centres. Its main mission is fundamental physics – finding out what makes our Universe work, where it came from, and where it is going. See:


The Joint European Torus (JET) investigates the potential of fusion as a safe, clean, and virtually limitless energy source for future generations. It can create the conditions (100-200 million °C) in the plasma sufficient for fusion of deuterium and tritium nuclei to occur – and it has observed fusion power to a maximum of 16 MW. As a joint venture, JET is collectively used by more than 40 European fusion laboratories. The European Fusion Development Agreement (EFDA) provides the platform to exploit JET, with more than 350 scientists and engineers from all over Europe currently contribute to the JET programme. See:


The European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL) is one of the world’s top research institutions, dedicated to basic research in the life sciences. EMBL is international, innovative and interdisciplinary. Its employees from 60 nations have backgrounds including biology, physics, chemistry and computer science, and collaborate on research that covers the full spectrum of molecular biology. See:


The European Space Agency (ESA) is Europe’s gateway to space. Its mission is to shape the development of Europe’s space capability and ensure that investment in space continues to deliver benefits to the citizens of Europe and the world. See:


The European Southern Observatory (ESO) is the foremost inter-governmental astronomy organisation in Europe and the world’s most productive astronomical observatory. It operates telescopes at three sites in Chile — La Silla, Paranal and Chajnantor — on behalf of its fifteen member states. At Paranal, ESO’s Very Large Telescope is the world’s most advanced visible-light astronomical observatory. ESO is the European partner of the revolutionary astronomical telescope ALMA, and is planning a 40-metre-class European Extremely Large optical/near-infrared Telescope, the E-ELT. See:


The European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (ESRF) is one of the most intense sources of X-rays in the world. Thousands of scientists come every year to the ESRF to carry out experiments in materials science, biology, medicine, physics, chemistry, environmental science and even palaeontology and cultural heritage. See:

European XFEL

The European XFEL is a research facility currently under construction in the Hamburg area of Germany. It will generate extremely intense X-ray flashes to be used by researchers from all over the world. See:


The Institut Laue-Langevin (ILL) is an international research centre operating the most intense steady neutron source in the world. Every year, more than 800 experiments are performed by about 2000 scientists coming from all over the world. Research focuses on science in a variety of fields: condensed matter physics, chemistry, biology, nuclear physics and materials science. See:

Return to top of page

Support the print journal

Learn more

Menu - My Account

Science in School e-newsletter