About EIROforum

Science in School is published and funded by EIROforum, a collaboration between eight of Europe’s largest intergovernmental scientific research organisations, which combines the resources, facilities and expertise of its member organisations to support European science in reaching its full potential.

CERN - The European Organization for Nuclear Research is one of the world's most prestigious research centres. Its main mission is fundamental physics - finding out what makes our Universe work, where it comes from, and where it is going.

EMBL - The European Molecular Biology Laboratory is one of the world's top research institutions, dedicated to basic research in the life sciences. EMBL is international, innovative and interdisciplinary. Its employees from 60 nations have backgrounds including biology, physics, chemistry and computer science, and collaborate on research that covers the full spectrum of molecular biology.

ESA - The European Space Agency is Europe's gateway to space. Its mission is to shape the development of Europe's space capability and ensure that investment in space continues to deliver benefits to the citizens of Europe and the world.

ESO - The European Southern Observatory is the foremost intergovernmental astronomy organisation in Europe and the world's most productive ground-based astronomical observatory by far. It operates telescopes at three sites in Chile - La Silla, Paranal and Chajnantor - on behalf of its member states. At Paranal, ESO's Very Large Telescope is the world's most advanced visible-light astronomical observatory. ESO is a major partner in the revolutionary astronomical telescope ALMA and is building the 39-metre European Extremely Large Telescope, the E-ELT.

ESRF - The European Synchrotron Radiation Facility is one of the most intense sources of X-rays in the world. Thousands of scientists come every year to ESRF to carry out experiments in materials science, biology, medicine, physics, chemistry, evnvironmental science, and even palaeontology and cultural heritage.

EUROfusion - The European Consortium for the Development of Fusion Energy comprises representations of 28 European member states as well as Switzerland, and manages fusion research acitivites on behalf of Euratom. More than 40 European fusion laboratories collectively use the Joint European Torus (JET), which has remained the world's largest magnetic fusion device since it was built in 1983. Smaller national experiments in Germany, Switzerland and the United Kingdom complement the experimental programme. The aim is to realise fusion electricity by 2050.

European XFEL - The European X-ray Free-Electron Laser is a research facility currently under construction in the Hamburg area of Germany. It will generate extremely intense X-ray flahses to be used by researchers from all over the world.

ILL - The Institut Laue-Langevin is an international research centre operating the most intense steady neutron source in the world. Every year, more than 800 experiments are performed by about 2000 scientists coming from all over the world. Research focuses on science in a variety of fields: condensed matter physics, chemistry, biology, nuclear physics and materials science.


Published and funded by EIROforum